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The Commonwealth of 
Virginia 

Line of Duty Act 

Each claim and related documents 
must be forwarded to the 
investigating agency. Based upon § 
9.1-403 B. local police and sheriff’s 
departments may investigate and 
report the circumstances surrounding 
the Line of Duty claim for their 
departments.  The Virginia 
Department of State Police shall 
investigate and report all other Line 
of Duty claims. 

When the investigation is complete, 
the claim, documents and 
investigative report are sent by the 
investigating agency to the 
Comptroller’s Office with a letter 
signed by the Chief of Police, 
Sheriff, or Superintendent of State 
Police, or his designee, within 10 
business days after completion of the 
investigation. 

Based upon § 9.1-404 of the Code of 
Virginia, disability determination is 
the sole responsibility of the 
Comptroller’s Office (Department of 
Accounts). 

Department of Accounts How long does it take to process a 
Line of Duty (LOD) claim? 
It may take 6 to 9 months from the 
time the claim is submitted. 

What health insurance coverage am I 
entitled to under LOD? 
The same plan of benefits the de-
ceased or disabled person had on the 
last day of active duty (§ 9.1-401 C). 

How long is my spouse covered un-
der LOD? 
Continued health insurance termi-
nates upon such spouse’s death or 
coverage by alternate health insur-
ance (§ 9.1-401 D). 



The Line of Duty Act  provides state-funded 
death and disability benefits for state and 
local public safety officers or their benefici-
aries due to death or disability resulting 
from the performance of duties. 

Death Benefits: 

One time death benefit payment to benefici-
ary: 

 	 $100,000 death due to unnatural        
cause 

 	 $25,000 death due to specified work 
related illnesses 

Disability Benefits: 

Health insurance coverage for permanently 
disabled officer, spouse and dependent chil-
dren (disabilities occurring after July 1, 
2000 for localities) and widows (for deaths 
occurring after April 8, 1972.) 

The Code of Virginia and forms to file a 
claim can be found at: 

www.doa.virginia.gov 

The Line of Duty Act Code: 

§ 9.1-400 through 9.1-407. 

Referenced Work Related Illnesses: 

§ 27-40.1  Firefighters– respiratory, 
hypertension, heart disease 

§ 51.1-813 Police—hypertension, heart 
disease 

§ 65.2-402 Firefighters, Police, etal.—adds 
certain cancers 

Forms: 

Claim for Death Benefits 

Claim for Disability Benefits 

Documentation needed to file a claim: 

  Completed claim form 

  Birth certificate of claimant 

  Birth certificate of spouse and all chil-
dren 

  Copy of marriage certificate 

  Copy of all divorce decrees 

  Verification of employment dates  

  Summary of Police/Incident Report 

  Accident/Incident report (Worker’s 
Compensation first report of accident) 

  Worker’s compensation award letter 

  VRS “Physician’s Report” of disability, 
Form VRS-6B (or similar report, if 
VRS is not the locality retirement sys-
tem) 

 	 Letter from the disabled employee’s 
physician stating the reason for the dis-
ability and expected duration 

 	 Physician reports and medical records 
to substantiate the claim 

 	 Copy of pre-employment physical 

 	 Insurance rate sheets covering the pe-
riod from the date of the claimant’s last  
day of active duty to present 

 	 College status of all dependents over 
the age of 21 

 	 Copy of certified list of Volunteer Fire-
fighters, as recorded by the Clerk of the 
Court, if serving as a member of a Vol-
unteer Fire Department (27-42) 

 	 Contract of ordinance recognizing unit 
as part of a safety program (applies to 
Fire and Rescue Squad services—§ 
15.1-136.2) 

Death Claims must also include: 

 	 Coroner’s Report 

 	 Autopsy Report 

 	 Death certificate        

 	 Copy of Will 


