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Creditor Garnishments 

 
Increase in 
Federal 
Minimum 
Wage 

Effective July 24, 2007 the Federal Minimum Wage increased from $5.15 per hour to $5.85 
per hour.  Not only does this increase impact the amounts paid to wage and salaried 
employees, but it also impacts the amount that may be withheld for garnishments on all 
employees.   

 
Change in 
Amount 
Protected from 
Garnishment 

Creditor garnishments are governed by a joint federal/state scheme. The federal Consumer 
Credit Protection Act (Title III) requires that the amount taken for garnishments may not 
exceed 25% of disposal income or 30 times the amount of the federal minimum hourly wage, 
whichever is less.  State laws restricting the amount taken for garnishment preempt federal 
law if the maximum amount subject to garnishment is lower than the federal maximum. 
 
Effective July 1, 2006 the Code of Virginia was revised to make the amount protected from 
garnishment equal to 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage in effect.  Since this reduces 
the amount subject to garnishment, Virginia law must be followed when calculating 
garnishments. 

 
Deduction 
#008, 
Garnishment 6 

CIPPS Deduction 008, Garnishment 6 may be used to ensure that the employee’s net pay is 
not less than the protected amount required by the Code of Virginia (see table on next page).  
You must put “47” in positions nine and ten of the utility field when using this 
deduction for an employee.  If this deduction has already been established for an employee 
and is still active, you must update the utility field as described.  Failure to include “47” in 
position nine and ten of the utility field will result in application of the federal protected 
amount instead of the amount required by the Code of Virginia.   

 
Additional 
Information 

Additional information regarding the proper calculation of garnishments may be found on the 
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry’s website: 
 
http://www.doli.virginia.gov/whatwedo/labor_law/garnsupp_faq.html  
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Creditor Garnishments, cont. 

 

 
AMOUNT SUBJECT TO GARNISHMENT, EFFECTIVE JULY 24, 2007 

   

Pay Frequency: Disposable earnings are: Subject to Garnishment: 

  $234.00 or less None 

WEEKLY $234.01 but less than $312.00 Amount above $234.00 

  $312.00 or more: Maximum 25% 

  $468.00 or less None 

BIWEEKLY $468.01 but less than $624.00 Amount above $468.00 

  $624.00 or more: Maximum 25% 

  
$507.00 or less None 

SEMIMONTHLY $507.01 but less than $676.00 Amount above $507.00 

  $676.00 or more: Maximum 25% 

  $1,014.00 or less None 

MONTHLY 
$1,014.01 but less than $1,352.00 Amount above $1,014.00 

  
$1,352.00 or more: Maximum 25% 

 

 
Example Example 1: Assuming disposable earnings of $600.00 and a semi-monthly pay period: 

$600.00 – 507.00 (protected amount, see above) = $93.00. The 25% maximum is more, so 
withhold only $93.00 ($600.00 times 25% = $150.00). 
 
Example 2: Assuming disposable earnings of $650.00 and a bi-weekly pay period: $650.00 
- $468.00 (protected amount, see above) = $182.00. Since this exceeds the 25% maximum, 
($600.00 times 25% = $150.00), only the 25% maximum of $150.00 may be withheld. 

 

    
  



 
Calendar Year 2007 August 31, 2007 Volume 2007-12 

 
 

Page 3 of 3 
http://www.doa.virginia.gov/Payroll/Payroll_Bulletins/Payroll_Bulletins_Main.cfm 

 

FBMC Contacts 

  
FBMC 
Contacts 
Update 

April Sheffield was recently promoted to Account Manager in the FBMC Client Services 
Division and Allison Morris replaces her as the new Client Services Specialist.  Allison 
provides support for Scott Mixon and is available to address any concerns or questions, 
especially when Scott can not be reached immediately.  Allison can be reached at 800-872-
0345, extension 2406 or amorris@fbmc-benefits.com 

 

FICA Taxability of Aliens 

 
IRS Guidelines The following IRS web site provides a good overview on the FICA taxability of alien 

employees.  
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/international/article/0,,id=129427,00.html 
In general aliens performing services in the United States as employees are liable for U.S. 
social security and Medicare taxes. However, certain classes of alien employees are exempt 
from U.S. social security and Medicare taxes as follows.   

An H-2A nonimmigrant admitted into United States temporarily to do agricultural labor is 
FICA exempt.  All other H visa holders must pay FICA taxes.   
Basically, there are 3 requirements in order for other non US citizens to be exempt from 
FICA.   
 
1.  Their employment to work for your company must be authorized.  If they don't have 
proper work authorization, they can't be FICA exempt.   
 
2.  They must be F1, J1, M1 or Q1.  (F2, J2's and most all other types including H1 and TN 
are never FICA exempt) 
 
3.  They must be “nonresident aliens".  This is a complex tax formula discussed at the end of 
the IRS web site listed above.  F1, J1, M1 and Q1's are generally only considered nonresident 
aliens for their first five years in the US.  In their sixth year they become resident aliens for 
tax purposes and are no longer FICA exempt.  For example, if someone enters the US as F1 
or J1 for the very first time on 12/01/2005 they are a nonresident alien for 5 years (2005, 
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009) so long as they remain either F1 or J1.  On 1/1/2010 you usually 
would need to start withholding FICA (unless you are a university and then other rules come 
into play). 
 
If you need any assistance in making a FICA tax determination, please contact Martha Laster 
at Martha.laster@doa.virginia.gov. 
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