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Creditor Garnishments 

 
Increase in 
Federal 
Minimum 
Wage 

Effective July 24, 2009 the Federal Minimum Wage increases from $6.55 per hour to $7.25 
per hour.  Not only does this increase impact the amounts paid to wage and salaried 
employees, but it also impacts the amount that may be withheld for garnishments on all 
employees.   

 
Change in 
Amount 
Protected from 
Garnishment 

Creditor garnishments are governed by a joint federal/state scheme. The federal Consumer 
Credit Protection Act (Title III) requires that the amount taken for garnishments may not 
exceed 25% of disposal income or 30 times the amount of the federal minimum hourly wage, 
whichever is less.  State laws restricting the amount taken for garnishment preempt federal 
law if the maximum amount subject to garnishment is lower than the federal maximum. 
 
Effective July 1, 2006 the Code of Virginia was revised to make the amount protected from 
garnishment equal to 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage in effect.  Since this reduces 
the amount subject to garnishment, Virginia law must be followed when calculating 
garnishments. 

 
Deduction 
#008, 
Garnishment 6 

CIPPS Deduction 008, Garnishment 6 may be used to ensure that the employee’s net pay is 
not less than the protected amount required by the Code of Virginia (see table on next page).  
You must put “47” in positions nine and ten of the utility field when using this 
deduction for an employee and you must enter a goal.  If this deduction has already been 
established for an employee and is still active, you must update the utility field as described.  
Failure to include “47” in position nine and ten of the utility field will result in application of 
the federal protected amount instead of the amount required by the Code of Virginia.   

 
Additional 
Information 

Additional information regarding the proper calculation of garnishments may be found on the 
Virginia Department of Labor and Industry’s website: 
 
http://www.doli.virginia.gov/whatwedo/labor_law/garnsupp_faq.html  

Continued on the next page 
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Creditor Garnishments, cont. 

 
AMOUNT SUBJECT TO GARNISHMENT, EFFECTIVE JULY 24, 2009 

   

Pay Frequency: Disposable earnings are: Subject to Garnishment: 

  $290.00 or less None 

WEEKLY $290.01 but less than $386.66 Amount above $290.00 

  $386.66 or more: Maximum 25% 

  $580.00 or less None 

BIWEEKLY $580.01 but less than $773.33 Amount above $580.00 

  $773.33 or more: Maximum 25% 

  
$628.33 or less None 

SEMIMONTHLY $628.34 but less than $837.77 Amount above $628.33 

  $837.77 or more: Maximum 25% 

  $1,256.67 or less None 

MONTHLY 
$1,256.68 but less than $1,675.56 Amount above $1,256.67 

  
$1,675.56 or more: Maximum 25% 

 

 
Example Example 1: Assuming disposable earnings of $700.00 and a semi-monthly pay period: 

$700.00 – 628.33 (protected amount, see above) = $71.67.  The 25% maximum is more, so 
withhold only $71.67 ($700.00 times 25% = $175.00). 
 
Example 2: Assuming disposable earnings of $800.00 and a bi-weekly pay period: $800.00 
- $580.00 (protected amount, see above) = $220.00. Since this exceeds the 25% maximum, 
($800.00 times 25% = $200.00), only the 25% maximum of $200.00 may be withheld. 
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Retirement Effective Dates 

 
Faculty 
“Contract” 
Employees 

There has been some confusion surrounding the processing of final pay and the appropriate 
date to use in PMIS for contract employees who are retiring.  The Appropriations Act 
(Chapter 781, 4-6.01, m. 2., 2009 Virginia Acts of Assembly) provides that: 
      

 Notwithstanding any other provision of law, employees holding full-time, 
academic-year classified positions at public institutions of higher education 
shall be considered “state employees” as defined in § 51.1-124.3, Code of 
Virginia, and shall be considered for medical/ hospitalization, retirement service 
credit, and other benefits on the same basis as those individuals appointed to 
full-time, 12-month classified positions. 

 

 
VRS 
Requirements 

VRS requires that all retirements must be effective on the first day of the month and all 
creditable comp must be processed prior to the date of retirement.  Contributions received 
after the effective retirement date will be rejected by VRS.  The paperwork submitted to VRS 
should reflect the actual retirement date according to the retirement requirements.   

 
PMIS 
Effective Date 
of Retirement 

The effective date entered in PMIS has no bearing on the actual VRS retirement date and 
should correspond to the last day of the employee’s pre-retirement employment (and no later 
than the last day of the month prior to retirement) so that the correct amount of final pay and 
associated benefits will be properly calculated. 

 
Faculty 
“Contract” 
Employees – 
24 Pay 

o Retirement other than September 1 
 PMIS Effective Date should be 25th of the month prior to retirement. 
 Contract must be paid out in pay period ending on the 24th. 
 Creditable comp should be calculated on full amount of final pay. 
 Under no circumstances should pay be calculated for a pay period ending after 

the VRS Retirement Date 
 In the event that additional creditable comp is owed to the employee after 

certification for the ppe ending the 24th has occurred, the payment should be 
processed as a special ensuring that appropriate deductions are taken.  The only 
employer-paid deductions that should be taken are Retirement and Retiree 
Credit.  The pay period begin date should be the 10th of the month prior to 
retirement date and the pay period end date should be the 24th.  In this instance, 
it is permissible to use the same pay period more than once for an employee – 
as long as the check date is different. 

o September 1 Retirement 
 PMIS Effective Date should be 08/25 
 Contract has been paid in full over 24 pay periods, creditable comp has been 

posted for each pay period 

Continued on the next page 
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RETIREMENT EFFECTIVE DATES, cont. 

 
Regular, 
Classified 
Employees 

o Employee works through end of the month 
 PMIS Effective Date should be the 1st. 
 Employee is paid for time worked from 25th through end of the month. 
 Health insurance premium is not taken. 
 No employer-paid deductions are taken, except Cash Match if applicable. 

 
o Employee works through the end of pay period ending 24th 

 If PMIS Effective Date is 1st, then employee should be put in LWOP status for 
25th through end of the month. 

 Normal deductions are processed for pay period ending 24th. 

 

Virginia State Employee Loan Program – Payroll FAQ 

 
Payroll 
Questions 

To date, over $130,000 has been disbursed by the VACU to employees requesting 
assistance through the Virginia State Employee Loan Program (VSELP) administered 
by the Virginia State Employee Assistance Fund (VSEAF).  Several payroll-related 
questions have come up during the first couple of weeks and clarification is provided 
below:  

 
1. What does the confirmation email to FSPRMB@dhrm.virginia.gov really mean?  

What is being confirmed? 
The VSEAF needs to know that repayment of the loan by direct deposit has been 
activated in CIPPS before the loan proceeds can be distributed to the employee.  The 
confirmation email provides this assurance by confirming that the direct deposit to the 
VACU for the employee named on the form has been (or already is) set up and 
activated in CIPPS according to the instructions in #5 on the VSELP direct deposit 
form.  The FSPRMB@dhrm.virginia.gov email address is for use by payroll 
officers only.  Employees should be directed to send all questions and concerns to 
VaEmpLoans@dhrm.virginia.gov. 
 

2. If the employee already has a sufficient amount going to the VACU to cover the 
loan payment, why does the employee have to send the Loan Program Direct 
Deposit Form to Payroll and why do we have to send the confirmation email? 
The VSEAF needs to know that repayment of the loan by direct deposit has been 
activated in CIPPS before the loan proceeds can be distributed to the employee.  The 
confirmation email provides this assurance.  In addition, the VSELP direct deposit 
form includes language specific to payment of outstanding loan balances by direct 
deposit to the VACU in the event the employee fails to comply with the terms of the 
agreement or terminates employment before the loan is completely repaid.   

Continued on the next page 
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Virginia State Employee Loan Program – Payroll FAQ, cont. 

 
3. When do we send an email to the FSPRMB@dhrm.virginia.gov mailbox?  What 

should it say? 
As soon as you have received the direct deposit form and confirmed that the deduction 
in CIPPS has been (or is) activated according to the instructions in #5, send an email 
with the word “Confirmation” in the subject line to this address stating: 

“The direct deposit form for John Doe, employee ID 123456789, has been 
received and activated in CIPPS.” 

Please be aware that loan proceeds will not be released to the employee until the 
confirmation email has been sent.  There is no need to forward a copy of the direct 
deposit form and do not include the employee’s bank account information in the 
email. 
Note:  Make sure you use the nine-digit CIPPS- employee number with no dashes.  Do not use 
other agency-specific identification numbers. 
 

4. When do we process the direct deposit form in CIPPS? 
The direct deposit deduction should be activated as soon as administratively possible 
according to the instructions in #5 on the direct deposit form and the confirmation 
email should be sent to the FSPRMB email address at the same time. 
Note - Item #2 in the Payroll Office instructions currently provided on the direct deposit form 
regarding when to establish the deduction will be removed from the form. 
 

5. What if the information on the direct deposit form doesn’t match what is in 
CIPPS (employee id #, account number, pay frequency, existing direct deposit)? 
If the account number on the form doesn’t match the VACU account number already 
in CIPPS, contact Felecia Smith or Diana Jones for verification.  If any of the other 
information on the form is incorrect, manually correct and initial the paper copy. 

 
6. Where does the Loan Program Direct Deposit form come from? 

The VSELP Employee Direct Deposit Authorization or Confirmation form is 
automatically generated from the approved employee loan application and many of the 
fields are auto-filled from information from the application.  Account # information 
and fixed amount or net pay options are generated from employee responses to 
questions on the application.     

 
7. How do we keep track of the outstanding loan amount for each employee? 

It is not your responsibility to keep track of the outstanding loan amount for the 
employee; however, you do need to know which employees have outstanding loans so 
that changes in employment status may be communicated to VSEAF.  VSEAF is 
developing a report that will provide the necessary information and expects to 
distribute the report very soon.    

 
8. Will we get a notification to turn off the direct deposit or reduce the amount 

when the loan has been satisfied? 
No, the deduction is treated just like any other direct deposit deduction and should not 
be deactivated unless the employee brings you a new direct deposit form to replace the 
one created from the loan.  Otherwise, the direct deposit continues as it is and the 
VACU will put the money in the employee’s account if the loan balance is zero.  The 
employee’s name will drop off of the report that you are supposed to get from VSEAF 
each pay period so you won’t have to worry about that employee anymore. 

Continued on the next page 
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Virginia State Employee Loan Program – Payroll FAQ, cont. 

 
9. What should we do if the employee brings us a new regular direct deposit form to 

replace the VSELP direct deposit form before the loan has been repaid? 
If the new form is for a financial institution other than the VACU or changes the amount 
going to the VACU to less than required for the loan, an email with “Termination” in 
the subject line should be sent to FSPRMB saying “Employee Name, ID #123456789, 
has submitted a new direct deposit form terminating the loan payment.  Please provide 
payoff amount.” 

 
10.  The employee already has his net going to the VACU.  The amount of the loan 

payment is $46.00 per pay period.  How can I “flag” $46.00” of the net for the 
repayment?  I understand if the employee has a fixed amount going to the credit 
union, I would just increase that amount but with the net going to the VACU?  
You don’t need to flag the amount of the loan payment.  Once the net pay goes to the 
VACU, they will know how to distribute it to the employee’s accounts. 

 
11. What happens if the employee’s pay is docked for one or more pay periods because 

of LWOP or another valid reason and there is not enough pay to satisfy the direct 
deposit for the loan? 
The VSEAF will get a report each pay period from VACU showing missed payments.  
The VSEAF may contact you to find out why the payment was missed and at that point 
you can let them know.  Or if you know when you are docking the pay that it is an 
employee with a loan, you can go ahead and let them know if there isn’t going to be 
enough to cover it for that pay period by sending an email to FSPRMB with “Other” in 
the subject line. 

 
12. Couldn't this have been set up as a separate deduction, sort of like child support 

where it would go directly to the bank?  It would make it much easier to track. 
Department of Accounts policy prohibits the use of garnishment deductions to 
create payments for non-court-ordered debt.  Payroll is not responsible for tracking 
payment, only ensuring that the direct deposit has been activated and changes 
regarding employee status/payment are communicated to VSEAF. 

 
13. What am I supposed to do if an employee with a loan terminates employment?   

Before processing final payment to the employee send an email with “Termination” in 
the subject line to FSPRMB with employee name, employee id number and date of 
termination and request loan payoff amount.  If employee does not have net pay going 
to VACU, make sure that the fixed amount is increased to include payoff amount.  

 
14. Employees keep asking me when they will get their money from the credit union 

what can I tell them? 
Generally, the VACU places the loan proceeds in the employee’s VACU account in 1-2 
business days after receipt of the confirmation email from payroll.  The employee is 
responsible for checking his/her account to see when the funds are available. 
Note: employees who have not received funds after this time period typically have not done step 
1 of the loan process properly and can call 804-225-3025. 

Continued on the next page 
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Virginia State Employee Loan Program – Payroll FAQ, cont. 

 
15. Why are all the employees from my agency being denied a loan? 

Independent agencies and some colleges and universities do not use the state Personnel 
Management Information System (PMIS) system to record personnel data.  During the 
pilot phase of this program, only salaried employees (full-time and part-time 
employees working at least 32 hours per week) in the PMIS database are eligible to 
apply. 
 

16. How much money does the CVC make on these loans? 
Nothing.  And more importantly, CVC gifts are NOT used on these loans.  The loans 
are made by the Virginia Credit Union.   
 

17. Where can we find information on the loan program? 
Please refer program questions to VaEmpLoans@dhrm.virginia.gov 

 

Global Opt Out Elections 

 
Additional  
Agency 
Global Opt-
Out 

The following agencies have elected a global opt-out of printed earnings notices: 
 

 Virginia Museum of Fine Arts 
 Christopher Newport University 
 Department of Rehabilitative Services 
 Gunston Hall 
 Eastern State Hospital (was salaried only) 
 Central Virginia Training Center 
 Department of Juvenile Justice 
 Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission 

 
Note:  Only 10 of 218 agencies using CIPPS have not made any form of global election. 
What an outstanding response! 
 
 Also, if you have implemented a mandatory direct deposit policy at your agency, send an 
email to DOA to receive acknowledgement. 

 
We commend these agencies in supporting these cost saving measures! 

 

Changes in PMIS to CIPPS Automated Update  

 
Job 
Description/ 
Middle Name 

Effective July1, 2009 the field "job description" has been removed from the PMIS to CIPPS 
automatic update.  Agencies that need to access this field should do so through PMIS.   In the 
future, additional duplicate fields that are housed in PMIS and have no identified payroll 
purpose will also be eliminated.   In addition, the full middle name field entered into PMIS 
will now come over to CIPPS whenever a change is made to first, middle or last name in 
PMIS.   
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